98-99

James Suckling

94-96+

Parker

Skip to product information
1 of 1

CHATEAU HAUT BRION BLANC, 2021

PRIMEURS - LIVRAISON 2024

" A complex, thought-provoking white. Vibrant and exciting with green herbs, stones and notes of anise and wet seaweed. Sea salt, too. It's full-bodied and tight in the mouth and rather shy. But it takes off at the end and picks up speed. Phenolic, with fine tannins. Iron. Oyster shell. 57% Semillon and 43% Sauvignon." - James Suckling

CHARACTERISTICS

CLASSIFICATION Premier Grand Cru Classé
GRAPE VARIETIES 57% of semillon, 43% of sauvignon blanc
2021 VINTAGE

" At this early stage, it seems to be one of the two or three best Haut-Brion whites of the last 20 years " - Wine Advocate

WINEGROWING

The winter was mild and caused an early budding of the vines. Most of the vines were not affected by the spring frosts. Cool temperatures at the beginning of the summer slowed down the growth of the vines, but the hot and dry daytime and cool evening of August allowed the grapes to reach optimal maturity.

WINEMAKING The winemaking is traditional, the duration of cuvaison lasts from 15 to 20 days. The wine is aged in barrels for a long time and 44% of the barrels are new.
BOTTLE SIZE 75 CL

The photo of the bottle is indicative. The bottle is kept in our warehouses. Thus the design and condition of the label may differ without affecting the quality of the wine.

Regular price 770,00 € T.T.C.
Regular price Sale price 770,00 € T.T.C.
Tax included.
View full details

Détail du vignoble

AGRICULTURE Sustainable
GRAPE VARIETIES

Red varieties: 46% of merlot, 42% of cabernet sauvignon, 11% of cabernet franc, 1% of petit verdot
White varieties: 52% of semillon, 48% of sauvignon blanc

VINEYARD SURFACE AREA 52.8 hectares
ANNUAL PRODUCTION 126,600 bottles
HARVEST MANUAL
SOIL

Gravel deposits forming two major hilltops

Histoire et anecdotes

Located in Pessac, a few kilometres away from Bordeaux. Château Haut-Brion is the oldest wine estate of the region. Founded in 1533 by the Pontac family who kept innovating and improving viticultural techniques, especially by developing the wine ageing potential. Wines were sought-after by monarchs and many writers extolled the virtues of them, such as Samuel Pepys who wrote: “And there, drank a sort of French wine, called Ho-Bryan, that hath a good and most particular taste that I never met with …”. The first branded wine was born.

It was in Château Haut-Brion, in the middle of the 17th century, that a new style of wine was made, “the new French Claret”, behind the actual great long-keeping wines, which marked a real winegrowing turn. It was at this moment that they started to bottle at the château.

While he was visiting, Thomas Jefferson, the next third president of the United States would have written to his brother in law: “I cannot deny myself the pleasure of asking you to invest in a parcel of wine I have been choosing for myself. I do it the rather as it will furnish you a specimen of what is the very best Bordeaux wine. It is of the vineyard of Obrion.”

CHATEAU HAUT BRION

Caractéristiques

CHARACTERISTICS

CLASSIFICATION Premier Grand Cru Classé
GRAPE VARIETIES 57% of semillon, 43% of sauvignon blanc
2021 VINTAGE

" At this early stage, it seems to be one of the two or three best Haut-Brion whites of the last 20 years " - Wine Advocate

WINEGROWING

The winter was mild and caused an early budding of the vines. Most of the vines were not affected by the spring frosts. Cool temperatures at the beginning of the summer slowed down the growth of the vines, but the hot and dry daytime and cool evening of August allowed the grapes to reach optimal maturity.

WINEMAKING The winemaking is traditional, the duration of cuvaison lasts from 15 to 20 days. The wine is aged in barrels for a long time and 44% of the barrels are new.
BOTTLE SIZE 75 CL

98-99

James Suckling

94-96+

Parker

Passer aux informations produits
1 de 1

CHATEAU HAUT BRION BLANC, 2021

PRIMEURS - LIVRAISON 2024

" Un blanc complexe, qui pousse à réfléchir. Vibrant et excitant avec des herbes vertes, des pierres et des notes d'anis et d'algues humides. Du sel marin également. Il est corsé et serré en bouche et plutôt timide. Mais il décolle à la fin et s'accélère. Phénolique, avec des tannins fins. Du fer. Coquille d'huître. 57% sémillon et 43% sauvignon." - James Suckling

CARACTÉRISTIQUES

CLASSEMENT 1er Grand Cru Classé
CÉPAGES

57% sémillon, 43% sauvignon blanc

MILLÉSIME 2021

" A ce stade précoce, il semble être l'un des deux ou trois meilleurs Haut-Brion blancs de ces 20 dernières années " - Wine Advocate

VITICULTURE

L'hiver est doux et provoque un débourrement précose de la vigne. La plupart des vignes n'ont pas été touchées par les gelées printannières. Les températures fraîche du début de l'été ont ralenti la croissance de la vigne cependant le climat chaud et sec le jour et frai le soir du mois d'août ont permit les baies d'atteindre une maturité optimale.

VINIFICATION La vinification est traditionnelle, la durée de cuvaison dure de 15 à 20 jours. L'élevage en barrique est long et s'effectue en barriques neuves à hauteur de 44%.
FORMAT 75 CL

La photo de la bouteille est indicative. Celle-ci est dans nos entrepôts. Ainsi le design et l’état de l’étiquette peuvent différer sans pour autant altérer la qualité du vin.

Prix habituel 770,00 € T.T.C.
Prix habituel Prix soldé 770,00 € T.T.C.
Taxes incluses.
Afficher tous les détails

Détail du vignoble

AGRICULTURE Raisonnée
ENCÉPAGEMENT

En rouge : 46% merlot, 42% cabernet sauvignon, 11% cabernet franc, 1% petit verdot
En blanc : 52% semillon, 48% sauvignon blanc

SUPERFICIE DU VIGNOBLE 52,8 hectares
PRODUCTION ANNUELLE 126 600 bouteilles
VENDANGE Manuelle
TERROIR

Dépôts de graves formant deux principales croupes

Histoire et anecdotes

Situé sur la commune de Pessac, le Château Haut-Brion est la propriété viticole la plus ancienne de la région. Fondé en 1533 par la famille Pontac, cette dernière ne cesse d’innover et d’améliorer les techniques viticoles. Les vins sont convoités des monarques et de nombreux écrivains en chanteront les louanges, dont Samuel Pepys :« Et là, je bus une sorte de vin français appelé Ho-Bryan qui avait un bon goût très particulier que je n'avais jamais rencontré... ». Le premier “vin de marque” était né.

C’est au Château Haut-Brion, au milieu du 17ème siècle que fut conçu un nouveau style de vins, “the new French Claret”, à l’origine des grands vins de garde actuels, véritable tournant de l’histoire viticole. C’est aussi là que débuta la mise en bouteille au château. 

Au décours d’une visite, Thomas Jefferson, futur troisième président des États-Unis. aurait écrit à son beau-frère : « Je ne peux pas me priver du plaisir de vous demander d'investir dans un lot de vin. Cela vous donnera un exemple de ce qu'est le meilleur vin de Bordeaux. Il provient du vignoble de Haut-Brion».

CHATEAU HAUT BRION

Caractéristiques

CARACTÉRISTIQUES

CLASSEMENT 1er Grand Cru Classé
CÉPAGES

57% sémillon, 43% sauvignon blanc

MILLÉSIME 2021

" A ce stade précoce, il semble être l'un des deux ou trois meilleurs Haut-Brion blancs de ces 20 dernières années " - Wine Advocate

VITICULTURE

L'hiver est doux et provoque un débourrement précose de la vigne. La plupart des vignes n'ont pas été touchées par les gelées printannières. Les températures fraîche du début de l'été ont ralenti la croissance de la vigne cependant le climat chaud et sec le jour et frai le soir du mois d'août ont permit les baies d'atteindre une maturité optimale.

VINIFICATION La vinification est traditionnelle, la durée de cuvaison dure de 15 à 20 jours. L'élevage en barrique est long et s'effectue en barriques neuves à hauteur de 44%.
FORMAT 75 CL